12:09 pm

  Local News
  State / National / World
  Opinion / Letters
  Arts / Entertainment
  Submit Event
  Comics / Games
  DJ Designers
  Advertise With Us
  About Us

Check out our archive of Dining Guides - Yum!

Daily Journal wins 12 press club awards
June 03, 2013, 05:00 AM Daily Journal staff report

The San Mateo Daily Journal won 12 awards during the 36th annual San Francisco Peninsula Press Club Greater Bay Area Journalism Awards dinner Saturday night held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Foster City.

The awards were for work completed in 2012. The Daily Journal competes with other daily newspapers in 11 Bay Area counties including the San Jose Mercury News, the Contra Costa Times, the Oakland Tribune, the Santa Rosa Press Democrat, the Palo Alto Daily News, the Palo Alto Daily Post, the Santa Cruz Sentinel and the San Mateo County Times, among others.

The Daily Journal was awarded third place for overall excellence. Reporter Julio Lara was awarded first and third place for graphic design.

Editor in Chief Jon Mays won second and third place for editorial writing and second place for news columns.

Copy Editor/Page Designer Erik Oeverndiek won second and third place honors in page design.

Senior Reporter/Columnist Michelle Durand won third place in both the feature and news column writing categories and Sports Editor Nathan Mollat won second place in the sports column category.

Reporter Heather Murtagh won second place in the business/technology story category.

The San Jose Mercury News received a total of 24 awards including overall excellence for both print and broadband. Other Overall Excellence first place winners included The Palo Alto Weekly, Scene Magazine, Mills-Peninsula Health Services, KCBS Radio and National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The Palo Alto Daily News won 11 awards including a sweep of the editorial cartoon category, the Palo Alto Daily Post won seven awards including a sweep of the headline category and the San Mateo County Times won three awards.

Entries were judged by the press clubs of Cleveland, Florida, Houston, Milwaukee, New Orleans, Orange County and San Diego.

Two $1,500 scholarships in the name of the late San Francisco Chronicle columnist Herb Caen were awarded. The high school recipient was Juwairiya Syed, Santa Clara High School. The collegiate recipient was Samantha Masunaga, University of California, Berkeley.

Special recognition was given to the general excellence winner of the press club’s High School Journalism Contest, co-sponsored by the Hillsdale Shopping Center. The Outlook newspaper of Aragon High School, San Mateo, was represented by its co-editors Olivia Marcus and Paniz Amirnasiri.

The press club also presented its first Lifetime Achievement Award to David Perlman, science editor for the San Francisco Chronicle.



Tags: place, daily, awards, third, press, second,

Other stories from today:


Print this Page Print this Page  |  Bookmark and Share
<< Back
Return To Archives

Daily Journal Quick Poll
Do you think Social Security will be solvent when you retire?

Yes, I'm already retired
Yes, I'm not there yet but it will be
No, the baby boomers will exhaust it
Not without major changes
It better be
Too heady to think about


A more vigorous U.S. economy appears to be emerging
WASHINGTON — The U.S. economy has rebounded with vigor from a grim start to 2014 and should show r..
Probe exposes flaws behind rollout
WASHINGTON — Management failures by the Obama administration set the stage for the computer woes t..
Shelling of UN school kills 15 as Gaza war rages
JEBALIYA REFUGEE CAMP, Gaza Strip — Israeli tank shells slammed into a crowded U.N. school shelter..
Senate heads toward vote on border bill
WASHINGTON — A bill to deal with the immigration surge at the border was headed for a procedural v..
More >>  
©2014 San Mateo Daily Journal
San Mateo County legal notices